Mentor-Protégé Spotlight: Rania Sadrack + Sarah Carmany

headshot.jpgMENTOR: Rania Sadrack, Principal/Healthcare Center of Excellence BD, TLC Engineering for Architecture

Length in the industry: 11 years

SMPS member since:  2007

Why did you apply to the mentorship program?
Mentoring will allow me the opportunity to enhance my skills and aid my own professional growth.  Mentoring will also strengthen my coaching and leadership skills.

What do you hope to learn from each other?  Sarah is an intelligent and an energetic young lady.  I know that she will help me gain a fresh perspective and insight into my job.  Additionally, I believe Sarah will help me take a critical look at my leadership skills and identify areas I will need to adjust for improvement.

How did you (or plan to) structure your mentorship? Do you meet at the same time every week? Do you have an agenda for each meeting? We’ve been meeting a couple of times per month, over either lunch or at networking and professional development events/programs.  Post attending the events/programs we plan on de-briefing our thoughts and lessons learned.  This format will help us identify ways to implement what we learn at the events; therefore, capitalizing on the benefits of attending such functions.

What do you like best about working in the A/E/C industry? I can honestly say, the people I get to meet and develop sustainable relationships with.    

What is your biggest strength in your current position? I believe my biggest strength is my ability to foster sincere relationships and help carry on my organization’s legacy by passing on its values and mission.

carmany_sarah_10-28-16_10-e1524834222322.jpg

PROTÉGÉ: Sarah Carmany, Marketing Coordinator,
Balfour Beatty

Length in the industry: 2 years

SMPS member since: 2017

Why did you apply to the mentorship program?
My goal for the year is to create meaningful relationships within the industry and I knew participating in the mentorship program would help me build that foundation.

What do you hope to learn from each other?

  • How to build meaningful relationships and network
  • How to build leadership skills
  • How to approach upper management with innovative ideas
  • How to find my niche within the industry

How did you (or plan to) structure your mentorship? Do you meet at the same time every week? Do you have an agenda for each meeting?  Rania and I have been meeting at least twice a month – not including the events we attend together. Typically, we leave each meeting with one goal for me to achieve or an event to attend (the events are aimed to build upon my larger goal of networking to create meaningful relationships). For example, Rania and I attended OBJ’s Mentoring Monday a few weeks ago, which is an event for business women throughout Orlando to gather together and receive guidance from each other.

What do you like best about working in the A/E/C industry?  The best part about working in the A/E/C industry is proudly being able to say that I play a part in building Orlando, the city that I was born and raised in.

What is your biggest strength in your current position?  I think my biggest strength within my current position is using empathy and emotional intelligence to create action.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑